Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2019
Classes begin - Monday, August 26, 2019
Labor Day (classes meet) - Monday, September 2, 2019
Last day to file for May/August graduation - Friday, September 20, 2019
Fall break begins after last class - Friday, October 11, 2019
Classes resume - Wednesday, October 16, 2019
Thanksgiving break begins after classes - Tuesday, November 26, 2019
Classes resume - Monday, December 2, 2019
Examination period - Monday, December 9, 2019 through Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Term ends - Tuesday, December 17, 2019
Spring Semester 2020
Classes begin - Monday, January 13, 2020
Last day to file for December graduation - Friday, February 7, 2020
Spring break begins after classes - Friday, March 6, 2020
Classes resume - Monday, March 16, 2020
Examination period - Monday, April 27, 2020 through Saturday, May 2, 2020
Term ends - Saturday, May 2, 2020
Baccalaureate Service - Sunday, May 12, 2019
Commencement - Sunday, May 10, 2020
University of Richmond Religious Observance Calendar

The University is a secular institution that values a diversity of religious expression. The University is also an active community with a wide range of personal commitments and academic and extracurricular activities.

Planning for academic and extracurricular activities should be done with sensitivity to the diverse religious commitments of the community and an awareness of religious holidays. Scheduling large-scale, one-time academic or extra-curricular events on a religious holiday should be avoided whenever possible.

Any student may be excused from class or other assignments because of religious observance. A student who will miss an academic obligation because of religious observance is responsible for contacting his or her professor within the first two weeks of the semester. The student is responsible for completing missed work in a timely manner.

Faculty are expected to be mindful of potential conflicts with religious observances and should make reasonable accommodations when students' religious practices conflict with their academic responsibilities.

The religious observance calendar is meant to serve as a scheduling guide. It lists significant holidays from the five largest global faith traditions. However, it is not comprehensive and students may choose to observe a holiday from any tradition not included on the calendar. For information about additional holidays from these and other faith traditions, see interfaith-calendar.org.

The holidays listed are those which occur when the University is open.

Buddhist 2019-20
Buddha's Enlightenment Day - Sunday, December 8, 2019
Buddha's Birthday - Wednesday, April 8, 2020
Christian 2019-20
Ash Wednesday - Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Good Friday - Friday, April 10, 2020
Easter - Sunday, April 12, 2020
Eastern Orthodox 2019-20
Christmas - Tuesday, January 7, 2020
Good Friday - Friday, April 17, 2020
Easter - Sunday, April 19, 2020
Jewish - 2019-20
Rosh Hashanah, first two days - Monday, September 30, 2019 through Tuesday, October 1, 2019
Yom Kippur - Wednesday, October 9, 2019
First day of Sukkot - Monday, October 14, 2019
First day of Passover - Thursday, April 9, 2020
Muslim - 2019-20
Eid al-Fitr - Wednesday, June 5, 2019
Eid al-Adha - Monday, August 12, 2019
Ashura - Tuesday, September 10, 2019
Hindu 2019-20
Diwali - Sunday, October 27, 2019