Academic Calendar

Fall Semester 2018
Classes begin - Monday, August 27, 2018
Labor Day (classes meet) - Monday, September 3, 2018
Last day to file for May/August graduation - Friday, September 21, 2018
Fall break begins after last class - Friday, October 12, 2018
Classes resume - Wednesday, October 17, 2018
Thanksgiving break begins after classes - Tuesday, November 20, 2018
Classes resume - Monday, November 26, 2018
Examination period - Monday, December 10, 2018 through Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Term ends - Tuesday, December 18, 2018
Spring Semester 2019
Classes begin - Monday, January 14, 2019
Last day to file for December graduation - Friday, February 8, 2019
Spring break begins after classes - Friday, March 8, 2019
Classes resume - Monday, March 18, 2019
Examination period - Monday, April 29, 2019 through Saturday, May 4, 2019
Term ends - Saturday, May 4, 2019
Baccalaureate Service - Sunday, May 12, 2019
Commencement - Sunday, May 12, 2019
University of Richmond Religious Observance Calendar

The University is a secular institution that values a diversity of religious expression. The University is also an active community with a wide range of personal commitments and academic and extracurricular activities.

Planning for academic and extracurricular activities should be done with sensitivity to the diverse religious commitments of the community and an awareness of religious holidays. Scheduling large-scale, one-time academic or extra-curricular events on a religious holiday should be avoided whenever possible.

Any student may be excused from class or other assignments because of religious observance. A student who will miss an academic obligation because of religious observance is responsible for contacting his or her professor within the first two weeks of the semester. The student is responsible for completing missed work in a timely manner.

Faculty are expected to be mindful of potential conflicts with religious observances and should make reasonable accommodations when students' religious practices conflict with their academic responsibilities.

The religious observance calendar is meant to serve as a scheduling guide. It lists significant holidays from the five largest global faith traditions. However, it is not comprehensive and students may choose to observe a holiday from any tradition not included on the calendar. For information about additional holidays from these and other faith traditions, see interfaith-calendar.org.

The holidays listed are those which occur when the University is open.

Buddhist 2018-19
Buddha's Enlightenment Day - Saturday, December 8, 2018
Buddha's Birthday - Monday, April 8, 2019
Christian 2018-19
Ash Wednesday - Wednesday, March 6, 2019
Good Friday - Friday, April 19, 2019
Easter - Sunday, April 21, 2019
Eastern Orthodox 2018-19
Christmas - Monday, January 7, 2019
Good Friday - Friday, April 26, 2019
Easter - Sunday, April 28, 2019
Jewish - 2018-19
Rosh Hashanah, first two days - Monday, September 10, 2018 through Tuesday, September 11, 2018
Yom Kippur - Wednesday, September 19, 2018
First day of Sukkot - Monday, September 24, 2018
First day of Passover - Saturday, April 20, 2019
Muslim - 2018-19
Eid al-Fitr - Friday, June 15, 2018
Eid al-Adha - Wednesday, August 22, 2018
Ashura - Thursday, September 20, 2018
Hindu 2018-19
Diwali - Wednesday, November 7, 2018